Speciality logo

  • 7 - 9 November 2021
  • Dubai World Trade Centre

Header logo

Speciality Food Festival

Header Info

  •   7 - 9 November 2021
  •   Dubai World Trade Centre

Is Cocoa Butter Vegan?

28 May 2020

Is Cocoa Butter Vegan?

Healthline
Is Cocoa Butter Vegan?
featured-image-caption

Cocoa butter, also known as theobroma oil, is derived from the seeds of the Theobroma cacao tree, which are more commonly referred to as cocoa beans.

This tree is native to the Amazonian region but now cultivated in many humid tropical regions across Asia, Oceania, and the Americas. The fat extracted from its seeds is a popular ingredient in skin care products and chocolate.

Due to its name, some people may wonder whether cocoa butter suits a vegan diet.

This article reviews whether cocoa butter or foods derived from it can be considered vegan.

Humans have consumed foods and beverages made from cocoa beans for centuries, both for pleasure and their potential medicinal properties (1Trusted Source).

Cocoa butter is a pale yellow edible fat extracted from cocoa beans. It’s solid at room temperature and melts easily when applied to your skin, making it a popular ingredient in skin ointments.

This fat has a rich cocoa flavor and is one of the three main ingredients in chocolate.

To make cocoa butter, freshly harvested cocoa beans are first fermented, dried, and roasted. Their oil is then extracted to make cocoa butter, while the remnants are used to make cocoa powder.

Read the full article here

View all News and insights
Loading

Sponsors & Partners

A big thank you to our valued sponsors and partners for being a part of the show.


 

CO-LOCATED EVENTS